BSP bares list of candidates for NEB polls

Manila, PHILIPPINES — The Boy Scouts of the Philippines (BSP) on Thursday released the official list of candidates for Regular Members of the National Executive Board (NEB) for the upcoming 2017 General Elections during the 61st Annual National Council Meeting at Tagbilaran City, Bohol on 15-17 May.

According to the memorandum issued [National Office Memorandum No. 30 s. 2017 – 2017 General Elections: Nominees for Regular Members of the National Executive Board], eight candidates will run for regular membership to the NEB, six of which are from Luzon while the two others are from Mindanao.

Those running for regular membership include businessman Danilo C. Asiaten of Tarlac, former Quezon City Councilor Jorge L. Banal, Sr., former Vice President and longest-serving BSP National President Jejomar C. Binay, businessman Enrique B. Lagdameo of Pasay City, Batangas Vice Governor Sofronio C. Ona, Jr., lawyer Jose Rizalino C. Ortega of Zamboanga City, former Bulacan Governor Roberto M. Pagdanganan and Tagum City Mayor Allan L. Rellon.

The National Council will only elect for four (4) regular members to the National Executive Board for a term of three (3) years each, or for CY 2017-2020.

Of the eight, six are incumbent members of the NEB – Asiaten, Banal and Lagdameo are regular members whose terms are expiring this May 2017; Binay’s membership to the NEB is also expiring this May 2017 as immediate past president; Rellon is Regional Chairman for Eastern Mindanao Regional Scout Committee; and Pagdanganan is member emeritus.

Vice Governor Ona has also served the NEB as one of its private sector representatives from 2013 to 2016.

Ortega is the only fresh face in this year’s election. He currently chairs the Local Council Executive Board of Zamboanga City.

The 2017 General Elections will be held on May 16, and the competition is expected to be tough, with big names and mainstays vying for the post.

The National Executive Board is the highest policy-making and governing body of the Boy Scouts of the Philippines.