Scouts elect new youth reps to the NEB

Senior Scouts all over the country elect their new Regional Scout Representatives to the National Executive Board.


The Boy Scouts of the Philippines, the country’s largest and fastest-growing organization for the young people, has recently elected its Regional Scout Representatives (youth representatives) for Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao, to the National Executive Board for CY 2017-2018.

Luzon elected Scout LEXA NATALIE C. JUNTADO of Camarines Sur Council, Bicol Region as its next Regional Scout Representative, making her the second female representative to the NEB. Visayas elected Scout ARNOULD JANN A. BERNADA of Capiz Council, Western Visayas Region while Mindanao elected Scout KYLE M. TORRES of Davao City Council, Eastern Mindanao Region.

The Regional Scout Representatives were elected during their respective National Scout Youth Forums conducted separately each for Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao sometime between March and April 2017, directly facilitated by the BSP National Office.

Read: Babaeng Scout, namayagpag sa LuzonVisayas Regions elects new Regional Scout Representatives

Electing Scout Representatives to the National Executive Board is mandated under Section 5 of Republic Act No. 7278 which states that the National Executive Board, the governing body of the Boy Scouts of the Philippines shall include “One (1) senior scout, each from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao areas, to be elected by the senior scout delegates of the local scout councils to the scout youth forums in their respective areas, in its meeting called for this purpose, to represent the boy scout membership.”

The inclusion of youth representatives in the NEB demonstrates the BSP’s belief in the capacity of the young people to take responsibilities at national level and provides them [the young people] with experience in operating at national level structures. Youth representation is present in decision-making bodies of the organization at all levels – there are two (2) Institutional Scout Representatives to the Institutional Scouting Committee, 2 District Scout Representatives to the District Scout Committee, 2 Council Scout Representatives to the Local Council Executive Board, 2 Regional Scout Representatives to the Regional Scout Committee and 1 Regional Scout Representative each from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao to the National Executive Board.


The Scout Representatives sits as members of their respective decision-making and governing bodies for a term of one (1) year, or until their successors have been elected and qualified. Each of them are vested with full voting rights as members of their respective Committees or Boards.